2.7 Meeting the Quality & Safeguard requirements

2.7.1 State and Territory requirements

Quality and safeguarding of disability supports is the responsibility of states and territories during transition. Some requirements differ between states/territories.

The Provider Registration Guide to Suitability (PDF) (DOC) outlines the different requirements for each state and territory that must be adhered to. For providers seeking registration in multiple jurisdictions, you must meet the requirements relevant to each registration groups you are applying for in each jurisdiction. 

If you would like to review the Quality and Safeguards Working Arrangements in place and the requirements for each jurisdiction, these are available on the NDIS website:​

For jurisdictions where the arrangements are still under development, providers will need to refer to the NDIA website and the Guide to Suitability which will continue to be updated as arrangements come into place.

Note that registration and Quality and Safeguard approval is not transferable to another entity or ABN. If providers are planning to move to a new entity, they will need to register again under the new ABN and undertake the relevant Quality and Safeguards approvals for the relevant jurisdiction(s).

2.7.2 New nationally consistent quality framework

The NDIA has been working with all states and territories to develop a nationally consistent quality framework.  This new framework will be rolled out progressively across the country from June 2018.

Until the National Framework is implemented, states and territories remain responsible for quality and safeguarding arrangements.

More information about the National Framework will be provided closer to when the Framework comes into force.

View the new National Framework, and a fact sheet specifically developed for providers on the DSS website. 

2.7.3 NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) Quality and Safeguards Commission (the Commission) is a new independent body that will regulate the NDIS market and support the resolution of complaints about the quality and safety of NDIS supports and services. It will replace the quality and safeguards arrangements that now operate in each state and territory.  

The Commission will implement the NDIS Quality and Safeguarding Framework. The Framework will come into effect as each state and territory reaches full scheme NDIS.

The Commission will be established in early 2018 and is expected to commence operations in each state and territory by 1 July 2020. In New South Wales and South Australia, that happens from July 2018. Remaining states reach full scheme in July 2019, except Western Australia which is expected to reach full scheme in July 2020.

Fact sheets about the Commission are available on the DSS website

Last modified 5/02/2018


Further reading